Monday, September 20, 2010

NetBSD drops down to single user mode after etcupdate?

The reason for this is carelessness. The comments in /etc/rc.conf clearly states:

# If this is not set to YES, the system will drop into single-user mode.
#
rc_configured=YES

This is a common symptom of carelessness which can be attributed to the large number of questions asked by the etcupdate program. After carefully answering first few questions, I resorted to answering i to all the other questions.And etcupdate promptly replaced all my other configuration files including rc.conf and overwrote:

rc_configured=YES with rc_configured=NO

I paid for my carelessness by googling for next fifteen minutes, thank you.